5 Followers
18 Following
CurseoftheBibliophile

Curse of the Bibliophile

My name is Katie and books have and always will be one of my biggest passions in life. There isn't a day that goes by where I'm not seen lost in another world of books.

The Fire Wish by Amber Lough

The Fire Wish - Amber Lough
Title: The Fire Wish
Author: Amber Lough
Publisher: Random House
Source: Netgalley
Rating: 5 Stars


Synopsis:

A jinni. A princess. And the wish that changes everything. . . . Beautifully written and accessible fantasy for fans of Tamora Pierce, Rachel Hartman, and Laini Taylor.

In this romantic and evocative fantasy, Najwa is a jinni, training to be a spy in the war against the humans. Zayele is a human on her way to marry a prince of Baghdad—which she’ll do anything to avoid. So she captures Najwa and makes a wish. With a rush of smoke and fire, they fall apart and re-form—as each other. A jinni and a human, trading lives. Both girls must play their parts among enemies who would kill them if the deception were ever discovered—enemies including the young men Najwa and Zayele are just discovering they might love.


My Thoughts
 
 
 This is a beautiful tale about love and learning that the grass isn't always greener on the other side. Magical settings and a unique cast of characters made this a truly unforgettable story. I only wish it was much longer than it was. The premise itself was very unique. There are not many stories with a jinni as a main character are hard to come by and the author really fleshed out this character and made her relatable and more human.

Najwa is a jinni and a spy so there isn't much that surprises her except for the wish that one human named Zaylee makes her grant. I loved Najwa she was brilliant and seeing her try to pretend to be human was so much fun. The best aspect was seeing how these two learned about each others culture and came to understand each other better in the process.

Zaylee is a sweet girl who got stuck in a terrible situation. She was desperate, but at times it was hard to tell whether or not she didn't jump out of the frying pan and into the fire when she decided to trade places with Najwa. Pretending to be a jinni with no real magical powers is one tough feat.

There was most definitely some romance going on in this story as well. My personal favorite was Najwa and Kamal as they were too sweet and perfect for each other. I liked that although there was a good dose of it the romance didn't take over the whole story.

This is a magical read that any fantasy fan will not want to miss!